Colorado’s Election Day – What You Need to Know

Colorado State Capitol

Colorado’s Primary Election Day is quickly approaching — Tuesday, June 28. Voters will pick their party’s nominees for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, governor, statewide cabinet positions, and state legislature.  Many Coloradans will also be voting on ballot measures and in local races.

All active, eligible voters should have received a ballot in the mail, which must be returned by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. Track your mail-in ballot and confirm it is counted by signing up for BallotTrax.

In-person voting will also be available at all counties’ early voting centers from Monday, June 20 to Monday, June 27, excluding Sunday the 26th. All in-person voting, up to and on Election Day, will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Primary Elections in Federal Races
U.S. Senator Michael Bennet is running unopposed in the Democratic primary. He will face one of three primary candidates running on the Republican side: state Rep. Ron Hanks, business executive Joe O’Dea, or write-in candidate Daniel Hendricks.

Six of Colorado’s eight congressional districts have contested primary elections. They include:

  • District 1 — Incumbent Rep. Diana DeGette has one challenger in the Democratic primary, and the winner will face an unopposed Republican nominee.
  • District 3 — Incumbent Rep. Lauren Boebert faces a Colorado state senator in the Republican primary, while ten candidates are vying for the Democratic nomination.
  • District 4 — Incumbent Rep. Ken Buck has one challenger in the Republican primary, and the victor will face an unopposed Democratic nominee.
  • District 5 — Incumbent Rep. Doug Lamborn faces four candidates in the Republican primary, while two candidates qualified for the primary on the Democratic side.
  • District 7 — Following Rep. Ed Perlmutter’s retirement, three Republicans are trying to flip this longtime Democratic seat. The victor will face Democratic State Sen. Brittany Pettersen in the general election.
  • District 8 — Four high-profile Republicans are running for their party’s nomination, with the victor facing Democratic State Rep. Yadira Caraveo in this newly formed district, which holds a near-even partisan split.

Primary Elections in State and Local Races
Democrats currently hold Colorado’s four major statewide offices, with each incumbent running uncontested in their primaries. In the Governor’s race, former Parker Mayor Greg Lopez or UC Regent Heidi Ganahl are vying for the Republican nomination, with the victor challenging incumbent Gov. Jared Polis.

Republican voters will select one of three candidates — Mesa County Clerk Tina Peters, former Jefferson County Clerk Pam Anderson, or businessman Mike O’Donnell — to challenge incumbent Secretary of State Jena Griswold. Colorado is also holding numerous state legislative, county, and city races.

Voter Registration and Locations
Voter registration is available online at Go Vote Colorado until June 20, open to all Coloradans at least 18 years of age on Election Day. Voters can also register at polling locations through Election Day. 

Colorado uses a “semi-closed” primary system, meaning registered Democrats only get a Democratic ballot and registered Republicans only get a Republican ballot. Unaffiliated voters get both parties’ ballots but may only submit one.

You can also find your nearest polling location at Go Vote Colorado.

Be sure to verify you are registered to vote, along with your desired party, ahead of the 2022 primaries. Then get out and vote — whether by mail, in person the week before Election Day, or on Election Day.

Share this...
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Scroll to Top