Nevada 2022 Primary Election

State Capitol of Nevada, Carson City

Nevada’s Primary Election Day is quickly approaching — Tuesday, June 14. Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m., after an early voting period that started May 28 and will run through Friday, June 10.

All registered voters will automatically receive a mail-in ballot, resulting from a new law passed last year. Voters must mail their completed ballot by 5 p.m. on June 14, or vote in person at a polling location.

Nevada uses a closed primary system, which means that voters can only vote in the political party’s races for which they have registered. Voters will pick party nominees for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, and the state Legislature.

Primary contest winners are chosen by a plurality vote, which means that the candidate who receives the most votes wins, with no minimum threshold requirement.

Both major parties will have primaries for one of Nevada’s two U.S. Senate seats. Incumbent Senator Catherine Cortez Masto is running for re-election and will face three challengers in the Democratic primary. The victor will face whoever wins the Republican primary, which features eight candidates, including former state Attorney General Adam Laxalt and healthcare executive Bill Hockstedler.

Nevada’s four congressional seats will also be on the primary ballot:

  • In District 1, incumbent Rep. Dina Titus has one challenger in the Democratic primary, with eight candidates vying for the Republican nomination.
  • In District 2, incumbent Rep. Mark Amodei faces four GOP primary challengers, with the winner squaring off against the victor of a seven-person Democratic field.
  • In District 3, incumbent Rep. Susie Lee faces one challenger in the Democratic primary, while five candidates compete for the GOP nomination.
  • In District 4, incumbent Rep. Steven Horsford has no Democratic primary challenger and will face the winner of a three-person Republican primary.

Incumbent Governor Steve Sisolak will face former legislator Tom Collins in the Democratic primary. The victor will face whoever wins a Republican primary featuring 15 candidates.

Democratic Lt. Gov. Lisa Cano Burkhead faces three contenders for her party’s nomination, with seven candidates vying for the Republican nomination.

Nevada is also holding numerous state legislative, county, and city races. One of those locations is Clark County, which has legislative, judicial, and city positions to fill for the City of Las Vegas and City of Henderson.

In Clark County, Commission chair and former Henderson Mayor Jim Gibson, a Democrat, is running for reelection in District G, and in a race that has also drawn Republican challengers U.S. Navy veteran Billy Mitchell and Joe Ludwig, as well as Libertarian candidate Jesse James Welsh. Additionally, Commissioner Richard “Tick” Segerblom is running for reelection in District E and District F Commissioner Justin Jones is running for a second term after defeating Republican Tisha Black in the 2018 election.

Three seats on the Las Vegas City Council are open in 2022. Incumbent Councilwoman Victoria Seaman is running for reelection in Ward 2, facing five opponents including Army veteran and fire services specialist Alan Bigelow, real estate broker Jeff Bradshaw, Ronald McWhorter, dental surgeon Erika Smith, and retired Las Vegas Fire and Rescue professional Mike Tomko. In Ward 4, Councilman Stavros Anthony is now running for lieutenant governor, and four candidates are running for the open seat, including former Councilman Bob Beers, former Assemblywoman Francis Allen-Palenske, Brenda Flank, and Robert J. Plummer. Ward 6 Councilwoman Michele Fiore is running for state treasurer and the race has attracted seven candidates to succeed her.

In the City of Henderson, three candidates are running for mayor following Mayor Debra March’s decision to run for lieutenant governor after serving on the City Council since 2009. The three mayoral candidates are Councilwoman Michelle Romero, Frank Ficadenti, and Drew A. Dison. In addition, six candidates have filed to replace Ward 3 Councilman John F. Marz, has held the seat since 2012 but decided not to run for reelection.

Voters will also decide the outcome of numerous other statewide and local primaries, including Attorney General, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Controller, and the State Board of Regents.

Voters can visit the Nevada Secretary of State’s website to check registration status, Election Day polling locations, ballot status, and additional information about their voting record.

Share this...
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Scroll to Top